About Us

Founded in 2007, the New Orleans Fellows Program is one of thirteen currently active Schweitzer program sites across the U. S. dedicated to developing a pipeline of emerging professionals who enter the workforce with the skills and commitment necessary to address unmet health needs. New Orleans Schweitzer Fellows are students competitively chosen from graduate and professional degree programs in universities throughout the Greater New Orleans area. Fellows come from a variety of academic disciplines and work tirelessly to improve health equity in their communities.

Our Impact

Since 2007, 128 Schweitzer Fellows have provided over 25,000 hours of service across Greater New Orleans. Partnering with 63 community-based organizations, these Fellows have addressed a wide variety of unmet health needs by creating and carrying out yearlong projects with direct service at their core. Fellows seek to address all areas of health, defined by the World Health Organization as a “state of complete physical, mental, and social well-being.”

Our Team

Program Director

Chelsey Leruth, MPH
Mailing Address: 1515 Poydras St, Suite 1200, New Orleans, LA 70112 
T: (617) 406-9262


Advisory Board

Lamar Gardere, MSCS (Chair)
Executive  Director, The Data Center

Tekeda Ferguson, PhD, MPH, MSPH, CHES (Vice Chair)
Assistant Professor, Epidemiology, LSU Health Sciences Center

Jessica Allen, MPH 
Chief of Staff, Propeller

Ahlam Ayyad, PharmD* 
Clinical Assistant Professor, Xavier University College of Pharmacy

Chayan Chakraborti, MD
Vice Chair for Education, Department of Medicine, Tulane University School of Medicine

Shelina Davis, MPH, MSW
Chief Executive Officer,  Louisiana Public Health Institute

Cecile “Cele” Gordon, JD

Claire Reuter Ozoral, PharmD, BCPS*
Clinical Pharmacist, Ochsner Medical Center – Specialty Pharmacy

Thomas “TJ” Stranova, ScD, MHA
Assistant Clinical Professor
, Tulane University School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine

LaKeisha Williams, PharmD, MSPH
Clinical Assistant Professor
, Division of Clinical and Administrative Sciences, Xavier University of Louisiana College of Pharmacy

Adi Nadampalli, MD* (Honorary Member)
Doctors without Borders

Elizabeth Fontham, MPH, DrPH (Honorary Member)
Dean Emeritus, LSU School of Public Health

*Denotes Fellow for Life 

Our Sponsors

Xavier University of Louisiana College of Pharmacy

In-kind Contributors